Is there and Aldi near Ashland VA? How far do you have to drive to get your discounted groceries? There isn't one currently located in this city but your nearest option is...
Henrico VA - There are two stores in this city. You can find the first at 8951 Staples Mill Road. The zip code is 23228. They are open from 8 am to 9 pm from Tuesday through Sunday. Monday is the only day of the week when the close early. They shut the doors at 6 pm on Mondays.
The second store in Henrico is at 12390 West Broad Street. This zip code is 23233. They share the same store hours where they are open to the public 8 in the morning until 9 at night every day of the week except Monday. Monday they close at 6 in the evening after opening the doors eight in the am.
We encourage you to submit any questions you cannot find answered on our blog to us directly via the Aldi questions page.
One teen reader wanted to know if there was an Aldi near Ashland VA where they could work. We did some digging and here is what we found out about the age requirements for teenagers in VA.
You have to be at least 18 years old to work at Aldi. Sorry. But don't lose hope. There are many others grocery stores that don't follow this policy.
You must be 14 years or older to work in the state of Virginia. Minors who are 14 or 15 years old must have an employment certificate which is issued by the state. You will need a birth certificate or other official document in order to obtain the employment certificate. This document should be submitted along with a notarized Permission for Employment form completed by the minor's parent or guardian, and an Intent to Employ form completed by the employer. Once the application and necessary documents are submitted it takes seven to ten business days to process.
Once an employment certificate is obtained, a minor can work only limited hours and are not permitted to work in certain job capacities which exclude all jobs which are considered hazardous or unhealthy in any way. Minors under 16 can only work 3 hours on any school day and only 18 hours during a school week. Additionally they may not work more than 8 hours on a non school day or more than 40 hours during a non school week. Also, the working hours are limited to those between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. except during the period of time between June first and Labor Day. During that time they may work until 9 p.m.
Minors over the age of 16 are not required to have an employment certificate but they are still restricted from many jobs which are considered dangerous. Most of these jobs require the use of heavy equipment or a motor vehicle, although some occupations such as roofing are also included. For a complete list of jobs which minors are restricted from as well as more information on how to obtain an employment certificate, go to http://www.doli.virginia.gov/laborlaw/laborlaw.html.
The fine for violating child labor law in Virginia is $1000 per violation and up to $10,000 for violations resulting in the serious injury or death of a minor.